The United Arab Emirates has recently banned citizens of 20 African countries from entering, according to Africa News. In addition, nationals of the Dominican Republic are also included in the ban.

What we know:

A notice was issued that read, “This is to inform you that we will not be posting 30 days visa applications for these nationalities effective today October 18, 2022.”

The nationalities included in the visa ban are Uganda, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Sudan, Cameroon, Nigeria, Liberia, Burundi, Republic of Guinea, Gambia, Togo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Senegal, Benin, Ivory Coast, Congo, Rwanda, Burkina Faso, Guinea Bissau, Comoros, and the Dominican Republic.

Notifications sent:

Local authorities notified all trade partners, including travel agents, that all applications from citizens of these countries are to be rejected.

“Any applications from the above-mentioned countries will be sent back or canceled.”

This is not the first time:

This is not the first time people from African countries have been barred from entering the United Arab Emirates.

In December 2021, Emirates Airlines, one of the country’s flag carriers, announced that travelers from eight African nations would not be allowed to travel or transit through until further notice. The stated reasoning behind the previous ban was to “limit the spread of COVID-19.”

What’s the reason?

Some have speculated that the recent ban is due to some visitors from the specified countries overstaying their visas. Others believe it has something to do with the ongoing aviation issues between UAE and one of the countries, Nigeria.

Some believe it is a racial discrimination tactic aimed at reducing the number of Black people entering the country. However, the reason for the new ban has not been stated and remains unclear.

Related: Africa Vs. The World: Visa Bans Against African Countries Around The Globe