A New Travel Advisory Requires Quarantine For Those Traveling To NY, NJ, and CT
Photo Credit: Getty Images

Photo Credit: Getty Images

A New Travel Advisory Requires Quarantine For Those Traveling To NY, NJ, and CT

connecticut , New Jersey , New York , news
DeAnna Taylor
DeAnna Taylor Jun 24, 2020

We are still in the middle of a global pandemic. While many states have moved to phased reopening, a few others are rolling out measures to ensure the numbers don’t increase again.

A new travel advisory was announced for New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut. The three states are now requiring a mandatory 14-day quarantine for anyone arriving from areas with high transmission rates.

“We have to make sure the virus doesn’t come in on a plane,” New York Governor Andrew Cuomo said in a statement.”We worked very hard to get the viral transmission rate down, and we don’t want to see it go up,” he added.

As of now, the advisory applies to those traveling from Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Washington, Utah, and Texas.

If you refuse to quarantine according to the mandate, you will be fined. Fines range from $2,000 for first-time offenders up to $10,000 for those who cause harm to others. However, each state will enforce the advisory on its own terms.

This advisory comes after New York and New Jersey were two of the states with the highest positive testing rates as well as deaths. Now, according to White House coronavirus task force member Dr. Anthony Fauci, states in the south and the west are seeing spikes in cases after reopening.

With this latest advisory, we are sure to see other states hopping on board and implementing similar requirements.

Related: Top Wellness Destinations To Break Your Quarantine Slump

From Corporate America, to Finding Freedom Abroad Through Entrepreneurship

Travel Noire, World Hue