As coronavirus spreads and the number of reported cases increases, countries around the world are adopting new measures including closing down airports, imposing travel restrictions, and shutting down its borders to visitors.

Below is the latest list of countries in Africa that have taken such measures in recent days:


The government said it would suspend air and sea travel with Europe from March 19. Authorities had previously halted flights with Morocco, Spain, France, and China.


On March 17, the government said it shut down land, air and sea borders indefinitely, starting from March 18. International flights were grounded, with the exception of cargo planes.


Djibouti said on March 15 it was suspending all international flights.


Egypt will suspend all air traffic at its airports from March 19 until March 31, Prime Minister Mostafa Madbouly said on March 16.


Starting on March 17, Ghana banned entry to anyone who has been to a country with more than 200 coronavirus cases in the previous 14 days, unless they were official residents or Ghanaian nationals.


Kenya suspended travel from any country with reported COVID-19 cases.


Libya’s UN-recognized Government of National Accord (GNA) in Tripoli suspended all flights at the Misrata Airport for three weeks. Border closures have also been closed.


Starting from March 20, there will be no commercial passenger flights to and from Europe for 30 days. Travelers arriving from affected countries must self-quarantine for 14 days.


The government banned entry to travelers from China, Italy, Bangladesh, Iran, Malaysia, and the UK, as well as to those coming from specific regions in Germany, France, and South Korea.

All direct flights to China, South Korea, and Italy have also been suspended.


Mali will indefinitely suspend flights from countries affected by the virus starting on March 19, with the exception of cargo flights. 


Morocco’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs, African Cooperation, and Moroccans Abroad said it is was suspending all international passenger flights to and from its territory “until further notice” as a precautionary measure against Covid-19.


The Health Ministry announced compulsory quarantine for any traveler arriving in Mozambique from China, Italy, South Korea, Iran, Germany or France. These are all countries that recorded over 1,000 cases of Covid-19, with more than 100 daily infections, and others will be added to the list. The United States and Spain have since been added.

The government has suspended all state travel outside the country.


The Namibian government is suspending inbound and outbound travel to and from Qatar, Ethiopia, and Germany with immediate effect for a period of 30 days, according to Reuters.


The government announced on March 18 it was restricting entry into the country for travelers from China, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Japan, France, Germany, the US, Norway, the UK, Switzerland, and the Netherlands.

Those coming from high-risk countries are asked to self-isolate for 14 days.

South Africa

The country has imposed a travel ban on foreign nationals from “high-risk countries” including the United States, Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, the United Kingdom, and China starting March 18. Officials expanded the ban to include France and Switzerland.

South Africans were also advised to cancel or postpone all non-essential foreign travel.


On March 16, Sudan closed all airports, ports and land crossings. Only humanitarian, commercial and technical support shipments were excluded from the restrictions.


Tunisia officials said it would halt international flights and close its land borders.


Zambia imposed restrictions on all foreign travel by nationals and advised people who returned from abroad to self-quarantine.