If you are a U.S. citizen, you may want to hold on your European summer plans. Starting July 1, the European Union (EU) began lifting non-essential travel bans for numerous countries – unfortunately, the United States is not on the list.

The ongoing restriction on U.S. travelers is based on three major criteria: whether the trend of new cases is stable or decreasing, what the county’s overall response to COVID-19 has been, and whether the number of new COVID-19 cases over the last 14 days and per 100,000 inhabitants is close to or below the EU average. Unfortunately, the U.S. does not meet these current standards as we continue to grapple with containing the spread of the virus.

RELATED: The EU Created An App To Explain Travel Restrictions By Country In Europe

FatCamera | Getty Images

Here is the list of 31 EU member countries and Schengen associated countries where U.S. citizens are current banned from visiting:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Republic of Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lichtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Since the UK withdrew from the EU on January 31, U.S. citizens are still able to visit the country as long as they self-isolate for 14 days upon arrival.

RELATED: South African Airways Sends Flights To London & Miami To Rescue Stranded Citizens

There are exceptions to the ban for EU citizens and their family members, long-term EU residents and their family members, and travelers with an essential function or need.

The ban may seem harsh and is certainly a blow to U.S. citizens, but the United States currently has more than 2,677,000 confirmed cases and more than 127,681 deaths, more than any other country in the world. Until we can get a handle on the situation, we may see this ban extend into the fall.