The UK Adds Four New Countries To Red List Travel Ban
Photo Credit: Issy Bailey

Photo Credit: Issy Bailey

The UK Adds Four New Countries To Red List Travel Ban

Nasha Smith
Nasha Smith Apr 8, 2021

The British government has added four more countries to the ‘red list.’ Bangladesh, Kenya, Pakistan, and the Philippines are the latest additions to the list which was created to control the spread of coronavirus and protect the country from the introduction of new variants. This will bring the number of countries on the banned list to 39.

The restrictions go into effect in England starting April 9th.

This means that any travelers who have transited through or departed from these countries in the preceding 10 days will be denied entry into England. British nationals, Irish nationals, and third-country nationals with residence rights in the UK (including long term visa holders) who have departed from or transited through countries on the red list within the 10 days prior to their arrival in the UK will be required to quarantine for 10 days in a government-approved quarantine facility.

All passengers arriving in the UK are required to take a test on days 2 and 8 of their 10-day quarantine period. And unlike the travelers from countries not on the list, they will not be eligible for the Test to Release scheme that allows early removal from quarantine.

In a statement, The Department of Transport provided some insight into this latest action.

“With over 30 million vaccinations delivered in the UK so far, the additional restrictions will help to reduce the risk of new variants – such as those first identified in South Africa (SA) and Brazil – entering England. So far, surveillance has found that few cases of the SA variant have been identified as being imported from Europe, with most coming from other parts of the world.”

The UK government has been faced with criticism over the omission of France on the list as the country continues to battle one of the worst outbreaks in Europe.

Other countries on the red list are: Angola, Argentina, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, The Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ecuador, Eswatini, Ethiopia, French Guiana, Guyana, Lesotho, Malawi. Mozambique, Namibia, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Qatar, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Taste of Soul: Haiti

Travel Noire, Taste of Soul, Duplicate