Photo Credit: Getty Images
New Travel Order In Massachusetts Enforces A $500 Per Day Fine For Travelers Who Don't Quarantine Upon Arrival
Massachusetts is cracking down on its policies to help stop the spread of COVID-19. The state is putting into effect a new travel order which urges visitors and residents entering to complete a “Massachusetts Travel Form” and self-quarantining for two weeks. Travelers who can provide a negative COVID-19 test result within 72 hours of entering Massachusetts won’t have to quarantine.
The new travel order went into effect over the weekend and according to Governor Charlie Baker of Massachusetts, “There are no shortcuts when it comes to containing COVID-19. For months, the residents of the commonwealth have been vigilant, adjusted their daily routines, and have had to adopt new habits, but we cannot and we must not let up now.”
Those who do not comply with the order are subject to a $500 per day fine.
Travelers entering from low-risk states such as New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Maine, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Hawaii are exempt from the travel order.
Governor Baker urges travelers in a statement, “Do not travel here if you have symptoms of COVID-19, and if you are visiting us from another state, take a moment to learn about the rules. We can’t let up now, and I have every confidence that if we all work together and keep doing our part, we can continue to fight COVID and continue to reopen the commonwealth.”
Other exemptions include travelers who are passing through Massachusetts, commuting across state lines for work reasons, entering Massachusetts for medical treatment, and those traveling for essential services.