EU Extends Ban On American Travelers, Again
Photo Credit: Photo by Joshua Mcknight from Pexels

Photo Credit: Photo by Joshua Mcknight from Pexels

EU Extends Ban On American Travelers, Again

Parker Diakite
Parker Diakite Aug 5, 2020

You might want to rethink those cheap flight tickets to Europe.

The European Union has extended its travel ban on Americans for the second time this summer following an increase in cases in the United States.

On July 1, the EU started to lift its travel restrictions and began welcoming visitors from at least 14 countries, including Canada, South Korea, and Australia.

The United States was excluded from the initial list because of the number of cases, as Travel Noire previously reported.

RELATED: Europe Considers Banning American Travelers Citing Failures On Virus

The European Council made the announcement following a biweekly review of coronavirus trends, containment efforts, and travel restrictions around the world to determine whether to add or restrict travelers.

Approval into EU countries requires that the COVID-19 outbreak in countries outside the EU are equally contained or better than in the EU.

The United States has more than 4 million COVID-19 cases and more than 151,000 deaths, more than any other country, according to Johns Hopkins data.

RELATED: 31 Countries Ban American Travelers This Summer

No country within the E.U. has over 300,000 cases of COVID-19. Meanwhile, California, Florida, Texas, and New York have each reported more than 400,000.

Right now, travelers from  12 countries are permitted to enter the EU.   The list includes:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Georgia
  • Japan
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Rwanda
  • South Korea
  • Thailand
  • Tunisia
  • Uruguay
  • China, subject to confirmation of reciprocity

The EU’s decree does not apply to travel to Britain, which left the EU in January.


Travel Noire, Breaking Borders & Barriers